

UNIVERSITY OF NIGERIA, NSUKKA TERTIARY EDUCATION TRUST FUND (TETFUND) DESK OFFICE

To: All Staff

University of Nigeria, Nsukka

From: Desk Officer, TETFund University of Nigeria, Nsukka

Our Ref: UN/RC.250/TF/AS

Date: July 15, 2025

CALL FOR APPLICATIONS: 2025 TETFUND SCHOLARSHIP FOR ACADEMIC STAFF (TSAS) – LOCAL POSTGRADUATE TRAINING

Following the recent directive from the **Tertiary Education Trust Fund (TETFund)**, we are writing to inform all academic and technical staff that the foreign sponsorship component of the TETFund Scholarship for Academic Staff (TSAS) has been suspended, effective from 2025, due to high costs and instances of scholar abandonment.

The local component of the TSAS, however, continues, and interested eligible staff are invited to apply.

Key Guidelines:

- 1. Eligibility: Full-time and confirmed academic and technologist staff are eligible to apply.
- 2. Institution of Study: In line with TETFund policy, applicants must apply to a university other than their home institution. Therefore, staff of the University of Nigeria, Nsukka (UNN) are not permitted to apply to UNN.
- 3. **Tenable Institutions**: Applicants must select from among the approved list of Nigerian universities (see attached list). These institutions span the six geopolitical zones and include specialised universities focused on agriculture.
- 4. Required Documents:
 - Admission letter from one of the approved universities
 - Approval to embark on study leave (or part-time as applicable)
 - Copies of academic certificates and transcripts
 - Updated CV
 - Any other document required by the TETFund Desk

Applicants are strongly advised to align their programme choices with the developmental needs of the University and their respective departments.

For further clarification, don't hesitate to get in touch with the TETFund Desk Office

TENABLE UNIVERSITIES OF STUDY, WITH THEIR POSTGRADUATE PROGRAMMES

NORTH-EAST

1. University of Maiduguri

Postgraduate Programmes:

- 1. Administration and Management
- 2. Arts
- 3. Basic Medical and Health Sciences
- 4. Education
- 5. Engineering and Technology
- 6. Environmental Science
- 7. Law
- 8. Pharmacy
- 9. Science
- 10. Social Sciences
- 11. Medicine
- 12. Veterinary Medicine

2. Modibbo Adama University of Technology, Yola

Postgraduate Programmes:

- 1. Administration and Management
- 2. Agriculture
- 3. Engineering and Technology
- 4. Environmental Sciences
- 5. Science
- 6. Social Sciences

3. Abubakar Tafawa Balewa University, Bauchi

- 1. Administration and Management
- 2. Agriculture
- 3. Engineering and Technology
- 4. Environmental Sciences
- 5. Science

NORTH-WEST

1. Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria

Postgraduate Programmes:

- 1. Administration and Management
- 2. Agriculture
- 3. Arts
- 4. Basic Medical and Health Sciences
- 5. Education
- 6. Engineering and Technology
- 7. Environmental Sciences
- 8. Law
- 9. Pharmacy
- 10. Science
- 11. Social Sciences
- 12. Veterinary Medicine

2. Bayero University, Kano

Postgraduate Programmes:

- 1. Administration and Management
- 2. Agriculture
- 3. Arts
- 4. Basic Medical and Health Sciences
- 5. Education
- 6. Engineering and Technology
- 7. Environmental Sciences
- 8. Law
- 9. Science
- 10. Social Sciences

3. Usman Danfodio University, Sokoto

- 1. Administration and Management
- 2. Agriculture and Education Services
- 3. Arts
- 4. Basic Medical and Health Sciences

- 5. Education
- 6. Engineering and Technology
- 7. Environmental Sciences
- 8. Law
- 9. Science
- 10. Social Sciences
- 11. Clinical Sciences

NORTH-CENTRAL

1. University of Ilorin, Ilorin

Postgraduate Programmes:

- 1. Administration and Management
- 2. Agriculture
- 3. Arts
- 4. Basic Medical and Health Sciences
- 5. Education
- 6. Engineering and Technology
- 7. Environmental Sciences
- 8. Law
- 9. Pharmacy
- 10. Science
- 11. Social Sciences
- 12. Veterinary Medicine

2. University of Jos, Jos

- 1. Administration and Management
- 2. Agriculture
- 3. Arts
- 4. Basic Medical and Health Sciences
- 5. Education
- 6. Engineering and Technology
- 7. Environmental Sciences
- 8. Law
- 9. Science

10. Social Sciences

3. Federal University of Technology, Minna

Postgraduate Programmes:

- 1. Administration and Management
- 2. Agriculture
- 3. Engineering and Technology
- 4. Environmental Sciences
- 5. Science
- 6. Social Sciences

SOUTH-EAST

1. University of Nigeria, Nsukka

Postgraduate Programmes:

- 1. Administration and Management
- 2. Agriculture
- 3. Arts
- 4. Basic Medical and Health Sciences
- 5. Education
- 6. Engineering and Technology
- 7. Environmental Sciences
- 8. Law
- 9. Medicine
- 10. Science
- 11. Social Sciences
- 12. Veterinary Medicine

2. Nnamdi Azikiwe University, Awka

- 1. Administration and Management
- 2. Agriculture
- 3. Arts
- 4. Basic Medical and Health Sciences
- 5. Education
- 6. Engineering and Technology
- 7. Environmental Sciences

- 8. Law
- 9. Medicine
- 10. Science
- 11. Social Sciences
- 12. Veterinary Medicine

3. Federal University of Technology, Owerri

Postgraduate Programmes:

- 1. Administration and Management
- 2. Agriculture
- 3. Engineering and Technology
- 4. Environmental Sciences
- 5. Science
- 6. Social Sciences

SOUTH-SOUTH

1. University of Benin, Benin City

Postgraduate Programmes:

- 1. Administration and Management
- 2. Agriculture
- 3. Arts
- 4. Basic Medical and Health Sciences
- 5. Education
- 6. Engineering and Technology
- 7. Environmental Sciences
- 8. Law
- 9. Medicine
- 10. Pharmacy
- 11. Science
- 12. Social Sciences

2. University of Port Harcourt, Port Harcourt

- 1. Administration and Management
- 2. Agriculture
- 3. Arts

- 4. Basic Medical and Health Sciences
- 5. Education
- 6. Engineering and Technology
- 7. Environmental Sciences
- 8. Law
- 9. Medicine
- 10. Science
- 11. Social Sciences

3. University of Calabar, Calabar

Postgraduate Programmes:

- 1. Administration and Management
- 2. Agriculture
- 3. Arts
- 4. Basic Medical and Health Sciences
- 5. Education
- 6. Environmental Sciences
- 7. Law
- 8. Medicine
- 9. Science
- 10. Social Sciences

SOUTH-WEST

1. University of Lagos, Lagos

- 1. Administration and Management
- 2. Arts
- 3. Basic Medical and Health Sciences
- 4. Education
- 5. Engineering and Technology
- 6. Environmental Science
- 7. Law
- 8. Medicine
- 9. Pharmacy
- 10. Science

11. Social Sciences

2. University of Ibadan, Ibadan

Postgraduate Programmes:

- 1. Agriculture
- 2. Arts
- 3. Basic Medical and Health Sciences
- 4. Education
- 5. Engineering and Technology
- 6. Environmental Sciences
- 7. Law
- 8. Medicine
- 9. Science
- 10. Social Sciences
- 11. Veterinary Medicine

3. Obafemi Awolowo University, Ile-Ife

Postgraduate Programmes:

- 1. Administration and Management
- 2. Agriculture
- 3. Arts
- 4. Basic Medical and Health Sciences
- 5. Education
- 6. Engineering and Technology
- 7. Environmental Sciences
- 8. Law
- 9. Medicine
- 10. Science
- 11. Social Sciences

SPECIALISED UNIVERSITIES OF AGRICULTURE

1. Federal University of Agriculture, Abeokuta

- 1. Agriculture
- 2. Engineering and Technology
- 3. Environmental Sciences

4. Veterinary Medicine

2. Joseph Sarwuan Tarka University, Makurdi, Benue State

Postgraduate Programmes:

- 1. Agriculture
- 2. Food Technology and Human Ecology
- 3. Engineering
- 4. Science
- 5. Veterinary Medicine

Prof. I. K. Idika (FCSVN) TETFund Desk Officer/ Chairman TETFund Committee